Party time

We partied as hearty as 8 people over … over …. hovering around …. all of whom are grandparents can party.  If laughter extends the life span, we’re all going to be centenarians plus some.

We ate shish-kabobs of beef, chicken, onion, pepper, and shrimp.  Veggies were sauteed, mixed, and colorful.  Potatoes were hot and cheesy.  Dessert was one of my historical favorites, angel cake with fruit and whipped cream (just ask Mom).  We shared funny stories, some we’d heard and told many times and laughed. 

Nancy gave me a scented candle and a stack of cards, some of which I’d given her, some from a stack shared with a friend years ago from Minnesota.  Donna gave me a Belk’s card, Stan a Best Buy card.  My first Netflix delivery is tomorrow or Wednesday, the first in a 6 month gift subscription.  Sunday afternoon we delighted in Holly Golightly played by Audrey Hepburn in Breakfast at Tiffany’s, also a birthday gift.

I talked to both kids and a grandson “happybirthdaynannyloveyoubye” with much on his plate.  If I had his energy, I’d scrunch my 5 workdays into 2 and shop the other 3.

That was my forty-eighteenth birthday.  Fun, food, family.  My mother-in-law, Edna, would have casually asked what the poor people were doing.  My sister-in-law, Berniece, would say …

“All this and heaven too.”

Leave a Reply

