Gone. Vista — gone, now.

This blog is brought to you on a shiny new HP notebook with all kinds of goodies, one of which is the most important to me at this time: Windows XP, familiar territory. Have you seen the Mac commercial in which the PC is rolling three men on a cart? They are errors and pop-up blocks. I met them all this last week. I wouldn’t have chosen such good looking men to play the part. I would have chosen really ugly animals like baboons and snakes.

I suspect this is one of the last new computers loaded with XP instead of Vista in the state. I found it at my friendly neighborhood Wal Mart on clearance, the last one. However, one of the IT friends I have had constant contact with this week has told me that under public outcry, Dell has agreed to load XP on request until the end of the year. Hopefully by that time Vista will have had enough chemo treatments and blunt force trauma to have eradicated its tumorous malfunctions and been beaten into submission. That sucker has more bugs than a Nebraska barn.

Now I have to learn how to use all the bells and whistles. I can’t say how much of this fiasco and unexpected expense was God and how much falls under Life Happens. But I am very thankful. With the new camera and the new computer, I should be able to set up The Brock Shop, our little yard sale and craft products –wood and yarn, within a few days and with only operator difficulty. Stay tuned for the launch.

Changing the subject a little, I have new books on the shelf, Jerusalem Countdown by John Hagee, Kingdom Principles by Myles Munroe, and Seven Pillars of Health by Dr. Don Colbert. I may feature sections, chapters, or summaries on this blog or create another book report blog to link to. We’ll see. It’s 9:15 and I’ve had my face in a monitor for 12 hours now.

So sion … syonar … see ya later.

2 thoughts on “Gone. Vista — gone, now.

  1. Still downloading software such as Firefox, Thunderbird, etc. The biggest problem is that we lost both of the cameras we took, and bought a disposable off a hook. Those 27 will be uploaded when I figure out the software. In the meantime I depend on the others and their Flikr accounts.

Leave a Reply

