Kitchenizing

I’ve been tagged. I don’t cook more often than I have to cook. Does anyone call “some assembly required” cooking? The last time I got excited about it, I gained 3 sizes.

1. How many meals does most of your family eat at home each week? How many are in your family?
Almost all meals at home. We are empty nesters with a few friends who come over for Dinner and a Movie once in a while.

2. How many cookbooks do you own?
Enough to display in a basket and dust when I rearrange the cupboards.
3. How often do you refer to a cookbook each week?
What for?
4. Do you collect recipes from other sources?
I belonged to an email recipe club called Chef2Chef. They sent 3 at a time. If I could recognize the ingredients I would print it. When I went to Seattle last year I copied off about a ream’s worth and gave them to BB & Chip since they watch The Food Channel.
5. How do you store those recipes?
I know they’re somewhere around here. I also have some 3 ring notebooks waiting. Maybe after the next blanket.
6. When you cook, do you follow the recipe pretty closely, or do you use recipes primarily to give you ideas?
First time I follow the letter of the law. Second time, Stan adjusts it to his way which is usually in improvement.
7. Is there a particular ethnic style or flavor that predominates in your cooking?
Other than Our Mothers’ styles, our radius doesn’t extend past 4 familiar countries, Mexico, Italy, China, and Weber Grill.
8. What’s your favorite kitchen task related to meal planning and preparation?
Side dish prep.
9. What’s your least favorite part?
The big pots. I think my dislike extends back to when I had to stand on a chair and the sisters stuck me with washing the big pots.
10. Do you plan menus before you shop?
Getting better. Is it fair to buy the food first, bring it home and make my list as I unpack so they match?
11. What are your three favorite kitchen tools or appliances?
Dishwasher, dishwasher, dishwasher.
12. If you could buy one new thing for your kitchen, money was no object and space was not an issue, what would you most like to have?
Gas stove with indoor grill.
13. Since money and space probably are objects, what are you most likely to buy next?
A new refrigerator with a better freezer compartment.
14. Do you have a separate freezer for storage?
No. A new unit would eliminate the need.
15. Grocery shop alone or with others?
The two of us. This could change now that I don’t work at the same place. But with us the divide and conquer technique caused us to get lost frequently, so we bought a dual cell phone package.
16. How many meatless main dish meals do you fix in a week?
Hubby has been Meat and Potato Man. This is gradually changing due to economic reasons. A friend loaned us a vegetarian book that looks promising all except for the frequent use of tomatoes which I love, Hubby doesn’t. He’s a good man. He gets to not like some things.
17. If you have a decorating theme in your kitchen, what is it?
It’s called Mid-Stupid. The next painting project is the kitchen. The layout is ok, only one spot that is a bottleneck requiring cupboard and counter removal, replace with 33 in.W, 12 in.D, 8 ft.H, double glass doors wall unit.
18. What’s the first thing you ever learned to cook, and how old were you?
Brownies in 4-H club to the best of my memory. I hated 4-H. It’s a whole ‘nother post.
19. How did you learn to cook?

Watching Mom. She was the best cook, but did not train well. She was too concerned about wasting ingredients so I felt I had to do it perfectly the first time and didn’t venture. Therefore, I learned some by watching and helping with sides. When I married, it was tougher and easier. The menu was pretty much Meat and Potato. Variations were discussed and tried. When the kids came, we were back to hot dogs, hamburgers, and fries. As their palates matured, we moved up to pizza and desserts. They liked most things with salt, cheese, or sugar. In time we expanded their world but after they left, I got lazy. Like I said, if I “get into” it, with two attitudes in the house, Nourishment vs. Entertainment, we get larger and larger.
20. Tag two (OK, four) other people to play.

Jules

Mercy Over Mayhem

Sparrow

Pebble Pie

3 thoughts on “Kitchenizing

Leave a Reply

